Placentica Says Hello

Placentica

tl;dr - see bolded part

Sup guys.  How are you?  I'm doing fine.  I'm here to talk about the markets.  The most sexy aspect of our wonderful world.  When I sleep, I dream of the demand/supply curve and inflationary pressures.  It hugs me like a warm blanket at night.  Oh how I love you Ray Dalio.

As many of you know, I was a very active trader in the early stages of this current round.  For the first 6+ months, before a lot of the other trader/scalpers figured out how to make money on the resource trade buy/sell spreads, I would actively trade those spreads to quite a large profit building my nation to be the biggest in the game.  /end brag.

Someone told me there is a topic talking about if I ever did use trade-bots back in the day.  I did not, I don't know how.  And doing it manually took a large amount of my time, and that's a huge reason why I've stopped doing the scalping.  Other big reasons:

1) The profit you can make goes way down as you grow.  $1m to a new nation is a lot of money, but $1m to me now isn't that much.

2)  When I formed Alpha I committed to myself to not use that alliance to funnel my nation's growth, but our growth would come at my expense, hence why I dropped off the top 10.  I switched play styles from being focused on my own growth to focus on my alliance's growth.  When I can buy an alliance friend a city for $5m, I was less likely to buy myself one for $50m, or spend $3m on just 100 infra when I can get 1000 infra to someone for $7m basically. 

3) I also didn't want to give my alliance a bad reputation, as generally people don't like scaplers, and I can see that now.  Now my buying is usually in bulk for alliance stockpiling or just seeing a price irregularity (price spikes, lack of demand killing the price, etc).