Jump to content
Alex

11/3/2018 - Geography Update Implementation

Recommended Posts

Hey everyone, this is going to be a long post, so bear with me here. First, a couple of housekeeping announcements:

@Nite Owl has recently resigned as a forum moderator. I am very grateful for their help, without the forum moderators I certainly wouldn't be able to keep things civil here by myself.

Next, I'd like to introduce a new forum moderator, @Chief Wiggum, who has signed up to help pick up the additional workload. I have high hopes that they will make a fair and unbiased forum moderator.

Onto the meat of the announcement!

---

Geography Update - Implemented!

This announcement was foreshadowed by this previous post in which I announced the geography update and how it was going to change things. There were a few bugs and hiccups during testing, but I am confident that it is ready to be released into production. If you read the previous announcement post, you're probably up to speed on the changes, with a few caveats:

  • Maps are being displayed using OpenLayers instead of Google Maps. You can read a bit more about that here, but the main reason is that Google Maps has outrageously high prices for using their service, and due to the high number of loads (every map load would have costed $0.0056) it was completely unaffordable for produdction. OpenLayers does not really remove any functionality, it's just a little different.
  • One thing I forgot to mention in the previous post is that I eliminated Alliance HQs. They never did anything, any it was unnecessary complexity; Alliances are no longer pegged to any specific continent. No one noticed/asked me about it during the past few weeks of the Test Server tournament, so I don't think this is really a significant change.
  • Everyone has receiving 2 additional free location changes. New nations start with 3 free changes. This was announced last time too, but I just wanted to re-iterate it.
  • Changing your nation map without changing Continent does not cost a location change. This change was made during test server testing, and means that you won't use a location change every time you adjust your nation's borders (for example, because of an increase in land area that you wish to reflect on your nation map.)

Screenshots

I have seen some fun nation map designs during test server testing, I've included some here to highlight the change.

image.pngimage.png

image.png

Video

Here's a video I released with the previous announcement as well. Things have been updated a bit since then, but it does showcase things pretty well.

 

More Details

If you did not get a chance to read the previous announcement with all of the details, I've included it here for you.

Quote

 

Instead of picking a point on the map, you get to draw a shape (polygon)

This is perhaps the most exciting aspect of this update from a role-play perspective. Instead of an arbitrary colored circle, you will get to draw a polygon made up of up to 20 vertices on the Earth's surface using Google Maps. You'll have a huge degree of customization, including the size of the map display and zoom on your nation page, as well as the color of your borders, fill, and opacity of your nation shape. An example screenshot

The area encompassed by your map shape must be less than or equal to the total land area of your nation as defined by the sum of all of the land in your cities. This will prevent arbitrarily large polygons from covering the map.

Note, like the circle points previously, nation maps can "overlap", i.e. the area that you draw for your nation is not exclusively "yours". The reason for this is that it would be incredibly complex and difficult to set it up any other way.

Antarctica is now a continent option

Going with Google Maps, there really wasn't a choice here. You can now draw your nation in Antarctica, and so Antarctica has now been added as its own separate continent with it's own resource distribution (Coal, Oil, and Uranium.) Antarctica can build Farms as well, but instead of having seasonal effects, instead there is a permanent -50% food production penalty.

When this update goes live, everyone will get 2 free additional location changes. New nations will start with 3 free changes

This should be pretty self-explanatory, you'll have some freedom to play around with the new location options when the update goes live.

Cities will now start with 250 sq. miles of land (instead of 20)

This will give new players a lot more freedom in drawing their polygon, and hopefully eliminate some of the high population density problems new players often experience early on. The tutorial has been updated to reflect this change; instead of asking players to buy to 520 sq. miles of land, they will now be asked to buy 500 sq. miles of land to reach 750 in their capital city.

The World and Nuclear Proliferation maps are updated to Google Maps (as well as Alliance maps)

Instead of drawing 200+ polygons on the world maps, instead your nation will be represented as a point (the center point of your nation's polygon) with your national flag on the map. Test server example

 

 

  • Upvote 6

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yoooo 

Really nice

I mean the thing about free location change if continent stays same

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Has this been changed to where  it won't sell all raw improvements when moving in same continent?

 

 

Edited by Princess Seshat
Noticed answer to the original question in the announcement

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, Princess Seshat said:

Has this been changed to where  it won't sell all raw improvements when moving in same continent?

Yes

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 11/3/2018 at 2:40 PM, Waffle said:

What resources are on Antarctica?

Oil, coal, uranium, and a lovely penguin icon instead of the weather/season icons next to your terminally nerfed food production.

It's actually pretty viable for mid-tier nations.

Edited by Sir Scarfalot
  • Like 1
  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
56 minutes ago, Waffle said:

What resources are on Antarctica?

Oil, Coal, and Uranium. It also has Food, but with permanent -50% Food production.

Here's the new distribution table:

image.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This new map system will draw in new players and expanding the game! This also makes it more realistic and glad you added Antarctica as a continent! One of the best updates to the game Since when I first joined in Feb. 2015!

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
58 minutes ago, Sean Anthony said:

This new map system will draw in new players and expanding the game! This also makes it more realistic and glad you added Antarctica as a continent! One of the best updates to the game Since when I first joined in Feb. 2015!

Thanks for the kind words! And I really hope it will draw in more players; that was the whole intent!

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Am I doing something wrong? On my nation page shows the borders but no map? On Edit page I can see the map. :S

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Mayor said:

Am I doing something wrong? On my nation page shows the borders but no map? On Edit page I can see the map. :S

Similar for me, just a white background. 

 

Working now

Edited by Justin076
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

AlexToday at 5:36 PM

 
-Looks like the OpenLayers map source is down currently, hopefully it'll come back up soon. If not, I'll look at alternative map sources
  • Like 1
  • Upvote 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can see my own nation but nobody else's.  Is that a feature or a bug?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, Mark76 said:

I can see my own nation but nobody else's.  Is that a feature or a bug?

Your nation page only displays your nation. This is because if we displayed all of the nation polygons around you, there would be overlapping chaos.

If you go to someone else's nation page you will see their nation polygon, or if you go to the World Map you can see the top 250 nations as points (flags).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maybe if everyone could see where everyone was there'd be slightly less overlapping chaos ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 11/4/2018 at 8:56 AM, Mark76 said:

Maybe if everyone could see where everyone was there'd be slightly less overlapping chaos ;)

Naw, there's too many nations for that, and some nations are HUGE. I mean @Hodor's claimed the Alps wholesale and @Sephiroth owns a chunk of Africa larger than Spain. Both of them are larger than the British Isles.

It might be nice for there to be an overlay option though... or some mechanic like if your nation overlaps with someone else's, and you win a war against them, their nation location loses precedence to yours and is automatically redrawn to get off your land.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, Sir Scarfalot said:

Naw, there's too many nations for that, and some nations are HUGE. I mean @Hodor's claimed the Alps wholesale and @Sephiroth owns a chunk of Africa larger than Spain. Both of them are larger than the British Isles.

It might be nice for there to be an overlay option though... or some mechanic like if your nation overlaps with someone else's, and you win a war against them, their nation location loses precedence to yours and is automatically redrawn to get off your land.

I used to have all of Madagascar and a chunk of the ocean around it too, but I got annoyed at all the people that put their map on Madagascar and their flags blocked mine out :v

I like this idea, but I was talking with a friend recently about it and I think that an option could be to add the top 200-300 nations (by size) on the world map (similar to the same way you see the top 250 nation flags on the world map) and in each individual persons nation view you see them and all the borders of the nations around them (preferably not using the flags of each individual since it would make it look crowded, simply use the color scheme people used and the name of their nation on it).

Also if some kind of "Border Patrol/Control" feature was included that might be really fun.

Edited by Sephiroth
spelling
  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, Sephiroth said:

I used to have all of Madagascar and a chunk of the ocean around it too, but I got annoyed at all the people that put their map on Madagascar and their flags blocked mine out :v

Lol, tbh I had wondered why you hadn't taken Madagascar since you're more than big enough to claim it 🤣

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does Madagascar give you defense bonuses, especially against disease?

  • Like 1
  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, Inst said:

Does Madagascar give you defense bonuses, especially against disease?

Only if you don't have any airports ;)

Edited by Sir Scarfalot

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use and the Guidelines of the game and community.